Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello friends, it has been a while since I posted (aka the last time I really needed advice)!

So I did my first hive inspections since early December today, I am in Central Florida and don't have a true winter. However, I wanted to leave them alone during the "winter" months and the only time I bothered them was to treat for mites (OAV). Upon inspection, one hive in particular was absolutely bursting with bees, I have been seeing a decent amount of activity on the hives, but this caught me off guard. Both brood boxes were simply packed.

Now, this is my first time trying to inspect with that massive number of bees and they had unfortunately bridged the frames with comb and honey. Pulling off the top box made one heck of a mess and I was trying to scrape the burr comb off as gently as possible (after smoking them off a bit). However, quite a few got rolled up in the comb and honey and trying to put the top box back on resulted in one heck of a crunch despite my efforts to clear the way. I guess my question is, is this something that any of you have been able to avoid or do you just kind of accept the casualties as they come?

Kind of a weird question I know, but I'm just trying to get in the right mindset here. Should I feel that twinge of guilt or just do what needs to be done quickly and get them closed back up?

Looking forward to hearing your opinions, thanks!

·
Premium Member
Aylett, VA 10-frame double deep Langstroth
6,888 Posts