Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In a completely unexpected chain of events, I am relocating from north central New Jersey to Sarasota, Florida. I have been beekeeping for five years, love it, and am devastated at the notion of upending my (meager, four-hive) bee yard. I need a quick answer to one question, and also an answer for a longer-term question.

First, I have these four healthy and producing hives, of varying box-heights and strengths, that I need to remove between now and late August. I am informed by The Authorities (my wife) that the hives can't make the move with us to Florida (they'd probably cook on the summer trip through the South, anyway), but more on that later. How does one go about finding a foster bk? I understand that other bks are reluctant to take on colonies in this situation, given the risk of mites, AFB, etc. (tho the same people are happy to catch and adopt swarms in the equivalent of shacking up with an unknown partner). There is no strong bee club in my area, and I am talking with the local Green Acres societies about taking them on, but still...

Second, once I get established in Southwest Florida, I may want to get back into the hobby. I will need to research state law in Florida on the topic, and I expect that, with AHB infiltration, it may be different than in New Jersey. Any input regarding between differences in beekeeping in the two locales?

Thoughts on either topic very much appreciated. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
Aylett, VA 10-frame double deep Langstroth
6,888 Posts