Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,530 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I'm posting this in the 101 section in the hope it will prevent getting my head ripped off in the small cell debate

a little background:
I'm a rookie
started 1 hive with beeginer kit from Brushy Mountain
2 deeps full of peirco
put in package beee's, they draw foundation beautifully, no problem
I read all this talk about SC and mites
I think "In my position as a rookie, this doesn't cost me anything, I just use SC foundation rather than peirco", worth a try
I get some SC foundation and make up a frame and put it in hive
it buckles because of my incompetence at wiring it and the bee's draw very "confused" comb, odd shaped cells
it looks bad sitting next to those perfectly straight uniform peirco frames
read a little more
take a sheet of SC foundation and cut it into 10 starter strips
make up a medium box with these
take the first frame of SC foundation that didn't go so well and cut it down to a medium frame and put it with 9 frames of starter strips in between the 2 deeps of peirco I originally started with
the bee's draw it out great

it is NOT as perfect as the peirco, but then I didn't really expect it to be
there is a little wavyness in the comb and the cell size varies gradually over the frame, but this is kinda what I expect, they did draw it well within the plane of the frame
make up another medium box of starter strip
they draw it out the same way

So, after to much background, time for a question:

forget the whole mite squabble for a second
let's talk about money
given that the bee's appear to draw out the starter strips just fine, why would I put foundation in the brood nest of my hives?
in the quantities I buy, peirco cost $7.80 + shipping to make up a medium box
doing it with starter strips cost me a buck (less if I don't use SC foundation)

ok, a seconds up, back to the mite squabble:

maybe it helps with the mites