Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
458 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since im new to this beekeeping thing Im looking at making all my own parts. I have some commerially made frames and the top bar seem to be made out of a plywood/veneer - is the reason for this because of cost or strength??

What type of plywood do they use??

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,108 Posts
>I have some commerially made frames and the top bar seem to be made out of a plywood/veneer

Who did you buy them from? I've never seen any that weren't solid pine except 30 years ago I used to see some fir.

> - is the reason for this because of cost or strength??

Both, would be my guess. If could be stronger and probably cheaper.

In order to be stronger it would need to be laminated with all the grain running lengthways, at least on the top and bottom bars. The ends could use a cross lamination to hold the spacer "ears" on.

·
Vendor
54,108 Posts
>All my "new" frames are leftovers from my grandfather 20 years ago

Now I feel old! Some of my newer frames are from 20 years ago, my old ones are from 30 years ago and they were bought new by ME, not my grandfather.

·
Registered
458 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
LOL..... You guys are a hoot.... thanks...
Not sure who made them - they came with the observation hive I bought off ebay...

·
Registered
65 Posts
My husband enjoys carpentry and occasionally makes furniture. He's not entirely convinced that it would be cheaper to amke it than to buy it? We live in Ohio, maybe if we bought pine while we are visiting NC? What say you, guys and gals? Is it cheaper to buy them or make them?

·
Registered
378 Posts
I make my lids from old plywood or pressboard. I make my screen bottom boards from used oak/hickory, as well as my entrance reducers. I buy plastic frames, and I find it's cheaper to buy the boxes than make them.

·
Registered
177 Posts