Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

My name is Mariah and I am new to beekeeping.

I was doing a hive inspection when I noticed one of my hives had NUMEROUS queen cells. I don't think they are big enough to swarm and I also noticed freshly layed eggs. Is this normal in a new hive? I only installed the package 20 days ago. 10174849_10201249624277761_4448303233420274311_n.jpg

·
Registered
317 Posts
Normal, what is normal in beekeeping??
I would destory the cones that you found, this maybe just be the bees are not sure about the queen.
Check your hive again in a week, if there are Queen Cells with eggs and the brood is spotty I would let them rear a new queen.
Only allow two queen cells to ripen.

·
Registered
338 Posts
Supercedure is common enough with package bees, queen may be in the cage for up to a week depending on how long the supplier had them packaged, picked up by your retailer or you, introduced to your hive, the 3-4 days for her to get out. By that time, workers may decide something just isnt right with her. Check for larvae, sometimes you only have empty cups.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
Supercedure is common enough with package bees, queen may be in the cage for up to a week depending on how long the supplier had them packaged, picked up by your retailer or you, introduced to your hive, the 3-4 days for her to get out. By that time, workers may decide something just isnt right with her. Check for larvae, sometimes you only have empty cups.
+1 on this. For whatever reason, it is very common for packages to supercede their queens.

·
Registered
3,404 Posts
If you have a nuc box, pull one frame of bees and the existing queen out of the hive and put them in the nuc with 4 frames of foundation. If you don't, have a nuc go buy one. LOL