Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to be moving an old hive in about a week (approx.4-6 miles).I'm new to bee keeping and have been reading up on everything preparing for next spring, but I found out about this hive that I can get for free( the guy is moving out of state)I went and looked at it(3 deeps tall) but the bottom and entrance is home made it only has a small hole that the bees can hardly fit into.The bottom hive body is very old,but I think it will hold up for the move.The bees are mostly entering the top because the cover is rotted on the front and rear.I do have a buddy to help with moving them,but he is new to bees to. Here in Ohio it has been very hot lately. Should I buy a new top(maybe screened) to install before we move them. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I will be using 8 frame hives next spring(I have a bad back)so I would like to switch them to a new 8 frame set up or should I just replace the bottom and top and leave them go for now. Thanks

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Should I try to move them as is then change top and bottom after I get them home.( the top is in pretty bad shape)

·
Registered
3,799 Posts
If you're sure the equipment (esp the bottom board) will survive the move, go ahead and move it before transferring to your new equipment. A screened top is a good idea.

Fasten the hive together with a couple of ratchet straps. You'll want to move the hive either early in the morning before the bees start flying for the day, or early evening when all the field bees have returned home.