Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

I'm new to beekeeping and have an old hive wich is unfortunately on its last legs as are the frames inside. I have a new hive but what is the best way to get the bees from one hive to the other with fresh frames?

I've been told I can take off the old super and queen excluder, and put the new broodbox and super on top of that mines the floor and they will move up into the new hive in a few weeks or so...

Anyone any experience of this or suggestions?

Cheers

·
Registered
3,796 Posts
What you've described will work but will take a bit of time.

If you are in a hurry, you could:

1) Tear down the hive as if you were doing a full inspection.
2) Replace the bottom board.
3) Place your new brood chamber with frames of foundation on the new bottom board.
4) Remove three middle frames from the new brood chamber
5) Gently shake the bees from the existing brood chamber into the new one
6) Very gently replace the 3 frames (add to outside and move other frames inward)
7) Make sure the queen goes in the new brood chamber
8) Place your queen excluder over the new brood chamber
9) Place the current brood chamber on top of the excluder
10) Feed the colony as your local conditions warrant

If you have partially filled honey supers you can keep using them until the end of the season. If the super boxes are bad you can move frames that have honey & nectar in them to a new box. I wouldn't add any additional supers at this time as the bees need to concentrate on drawing out their new brood chamber. Your priority becomes having the bees draw out their new home instead of collecting surplus honey.