Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to beekeeping, so any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.
I received my bees (Italian) at the end of May. Throughout this month I have checked and fed them ~once a week. Everything seemed to be going well.
Yesterday I went in to check the top box. I discovered that in 2 weeks time they were already starting to draw out the 9th and 10th frame of this top box. Upon closer inspection, I discovered what I now know are drone cells (LOTS of large, bulbous, brown cells near the bottoms of the frames), a lot of larvae, and what I assume are queen cells hanging from the bottom. Having sorted through many of the posts on this site and information in my book, I knew this could be a sign of an oncoming swarm.
Today I met with my bee supplier, Harold, to buy a super and queen excluder. I mentioned the peanut-shaped queen cells (2-4 all lumped together???) hanging from the bottom. The largest clump had a large hole in the back that bees were crawling in and out of. I'm not sure if the queen cells were "capped" or not. Harold's advice was to look carefully for eggs in both of my boxes. If I find eggs, go ahead and scrape off the queen and drone cells hanging from the bottoms. If I don't find egg cells, the bees maybe trying to make a new queen, so just leave them.