Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Starting up a few hives in NC MN to increase waining pollinators for our new hobby orchard&fruit bushes. Honey production is not priority(but we like it) long term low maintenance bee survival is. I am sold on the approach of Russian beekeeper/author Fedor Lazutin who prescribes northern race bees for northern latitudes housed in insulated horizontal hives. I have three hives ready for bees and sourced our first colony(NUC) of certified Russians to get started. I am three years into reading/research and beginning classes on bees and have learned enough to see that there are a lot of ways to try and keep bees, a lot of new beekeeping challenges arising and for those with hobby hives not industrially mobile(nor wish to be) concern for using bees and beekeeping methods best for different regions. As a past wildlife biologist I am very aware how nature adapts or changes its species thru lattitudinal regions. It surprises me that so many people that want to have honeybees should think that the same type of bees and bee practices would be ideal everywhere. I would greatly appreciate the chance to share with any others that are pursuing northern race bees in insulated hives.

P.S. - Also have begun housing/management program for native orchard mason bees and leaf cutter bees as well as overall improving of 20+ acres of habitat and nectar sources for all native pollinators. Another 100 acres of mixed hardwoods(lots of maple and Lindon).

Thank you for allowing me the chance to learn from others experience.

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,552 Posts
Welcome aboard Drake,

I have read DR Leos book and have some of the ideas incorporated into what I do.
I did make a couple Long Hives to hold double deep Lang frames.

Currently thinking of a double wall hive similar to the Buckeye hive from Root in the late 1800's