Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a new beekeeper and have a few dozen colonies. Most of which have what I think are ample honey stores for winter. I dont plan to harvest honey and would rather keep the hives full for a better chance of survival. My question is about applying miticides with honey stores. If I use apiguard or similar product with stores for winter left in the hive will that be toxic for the bees to feed on this winter? thanks

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I thought that a late summer to fall treatment was the rule for bees to overwinter. To get as many bees uninfested as possible for the winter. I am just learning as I read things. I welcome any and everyones opinions and comments. thanks

·
Registered
130 Posts
If you have honey supers on I would take them off. They bees may not eat all the honey in them over the winter and you don't want to mix it in with the new honey the next season.

On another note If you don't have mites I would not treat. Start doing might counts either with a sticky board if you have SBB or pull some drone larva and see if the hive has mites. If you have bees that don't have mights You may want to take notes on that. IF they stay might free for two years or more that is a hive you really want to think about splitting and making new queen from. Natural resistance is a good thing.

·
Registered
274 Posts
In this respect bees are like people. Giving medicines that aren't needed only helps to breed drug resistant diseases, viruses, ect. If you have mites , then treat them, otherwise, no.
Meridith

·
Registered
174 Posts