Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been keeping 2 hives for a few years now. Still pretty inexperienced and like to bounce alot of things off a mentor I had helping me a great deal the first 2 or so seasons. I know he has had good success doing OAV in early spring and Novemberish and MAQs in August. I was set to do my OAV treatment and he asked if my mite count was very high. Do most of you treat regardless at specific times as sort of a maintenance item or do mite counts and only do the treatment if you are above a certain threshold?

I would also like to add this hive has overwintered each year so, I believe its 3 or 4 years in now. And was busting with bees (most of them in the top box) when I flipped the boxes about 2 weeks ago. At that time I started a 50/50 sugar syrup mix with HBH. I could be adding a super fairly soon, which would probably be the earliest I have done so. I am in inland SW Connecticut.

Registered
Personally I don't treat prophylactically. I perform regular mite checks and assess the levels/threshold at that time given the time of year. Only if the mites exceed certain thresholds do I then treat ... some years I haven't had to treat at all because for some reason or another they mite levels were just kept in check.

Registered
Me, I treat -- more or less -- prophylactically. Mites, from what I understand, are always present, and since an oxalic acid dribble is easy, quick and cheap (and relatively effective?), why not? I have a feeling, though, that more experienced beeks'll come up with beaucoup reasons ....

Registered
I treat 2 times a year. Now with formic, switched to formic pro from maqs, and once in sept with apivar.
I do mite washes with alcohol once a month to see if things are in check, and it works for me.
do as you feel necessary, treating or treatment free, they are you bees.

Registered