Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,
This is my first year in beekeeping. I purchased two packages of bees and two hives. Last Friday my partner and I went into the hive for an inspection of how far the frames were drawn out. Noticed some real cool things. There were eggs and lots of capped brood and lots of stores. We went back yesterday afternoon to add the second deep box because there are seven frames that were filled.
Upon inspection yesterday, we were going through the frames and noticed that there was a larger cell on the center frame at the bottom(it looks like a teacup upside down. My first thought was to remove it with hive tool, but we decided to find the queen first. We had no joy on finding the queen. We looked at the other hive to compare the amount of bees and there were about the same amount in each. We went back to the other hive and tried finding new eggs for a sign that the queen was there but still no joy with eggs. There were workers building more of the previously stated teacup shapped cell. We also noticed there was larva that was very small surronding the area around the brood but could not see inside the teacup cell to see if there was anything in there.
I have not noticed any drones but there does look like drone cells that are in the brood section of the frame.

Someone please help with advise.

Thank you for reading,
Kenneth

·
Registered
535 Posts
Unless you really know what your doing tearing down queen cells is always a bad idea in my opinion.

It's very common for package queens to be superseded shortly after they get established. I would let the bees handle it.

If its a supersedure you should have eggs from your new queen in 30 days. Maybe a little less depending on how far along the queen cell is.
I'd keep an eye on things in case something goes wrong but most of the time it'll work out.
Woody Roberts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3