Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm a fourth year beekeeper and I've decided to give the Mann Lake sytrofoam mini mating nucs a try. I grafted some larvae recently and I should have some queen cells ready by the end of this week.

Does anyone have a good procedure for using this style of mating nuc? I've read different variations on procedures, and would be interested to hear from anyone who has actual experience with this style of mating nuc.

I placed 1" wax started strips in each frame, and plan to use 1 to 1.5 cups of bees in each nuc.

Here are some specific questions:

1. Should I add the worker bees a day or two before I add the queen cell, or should I add the bees and queen cell at the same time?

2. I'm new to grafting. Should I add the queen cells on day #9 or day #10 after grafting? I've seen varying opinions, and I've read that the queens can sometimes hatch on day #10 in hot weather.

3. Once I have the workers and queen cell installed, how long should I leave the nuc sealed? I've read that closing the entrance and putting the nuc in a cool, dark place for 3 or 4 days can help convince the workers to stay put.

I'm still new at queen rearing, and any advice or suggestions would be welcomed.

Roger

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I learned a lot about the mini nucs by watchinghttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL3HRd1n53g, they have a lot of good videos on queen rearing if you haven't seen them already
That video that inspired me to try the mini nucs. I'm a backyard hobbyist and don't have the space or resources for large quantities of full size mating nucs. I have a number of friends who are beekeepers as well, and my goal is to eventually be able to produce a small but steady supply of mated queens primarily for our own use.

I've had trouble obtaining the pheromone strips used in the video. I have some on order, but I'm not sure when they will actually ship.