Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm interested in having a close look at my bees - to check for everything from mites to age i.e. wear and tear (aging of the bees) how powerful a microscope will I need? Thanks. c

·
Registered
850 Posts
I'm interested in having a close look at my bees - to check for everything from mites to age i.e. wear and tear (aging of the bees) how powerful a microscope will I need? Thanks. c
I am in the middle of assessing this right now for a project. What I have learned (total microscope novice here) is that one scope does not do all tasks. A compound microscope will let you look at nosema and pollen samples- need pretty strong zoom and a dissecting or stereo microscope will let you look up close at bees. NY Bee Wellness has some stuff on microscopes. http://nybeewellness.com/Microscopy___Anatomy.html
http://www.Microscope.com has a "beekeeper special" (compound).

IMHO, microscopy is clearly an area that the US could use a lot more organized information on. UK has a microscopy certificate program and training well established.
here are some UK links
http://www.bbka.org.uk/files/library/27-10-2011_microscopy_2012_1319745954.pdf

http://www.brunelmicroscopes.co.uk/bee-disease.html

·
Registered
1,660 Posts
I believe Randy Oliver did a very detailed piece on nosema with the microscope , I'm sure you will find it if you search his site , very interesting .

·
Banned
4,229 Posts
A dissection microscope will do the trick.

The total magnification is usually just the objective magnification X the eyepiece magnification.

What you should also look for in a good dissection scope is the field of view.

For looking at a bee up close, 30X or so is more than enough, otherwise it can be difficult to keep the specimen in the field.

Nowadays, some folks prefer to use LED illumination since it's often more convenient to use the scope without worrying about power cords, etc. .