Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks,

Honestly, i have little experience in dealing with Varroa mites. Ive always understood that there is always mites in your hive however the important factor is how many. Over a 48hr period, yesterday i found 15-20 mites on the board in one of my hives. Should i be concerned? I do have a super on this hive so i am wondering if there is a safe approach to treating for them if i need to. Because of the mites i've been running this hive as tight (space wise) as i can if that makes a difference. However the flow is picking up and i will likely be needing to super them more soon. Any suggestions?

Also I'll go ahead an ask a different question while I'm here:

How soon does a queen in a swarm start laying once i hived them?

Thank you so much

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
J.T - Lets see if i can help you out here. Varroa mites are a pain. There is only one product that I know of for sure that you can use while you have the honey on, that's HopGuard. It takes 3 applications, in about 3 weeks due to it drying out. Now to figure out if you need to do a treatment right now or not. Finding 15-20 mites on a sticky board isn't a good way to figure out your mite load. You need to do a sugar roll and see how many you come up with. If the number is above about 10 it means you have a 10 percent mite load as you put in about 100 bees to do the mite roll. At that 10 percent it is said that there is a treatment needed at that point. Most people don't treat a hive till around august though from what i've learned.