Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year grafting and rearing queens. That being said, I have ~20 hives and I am torn as to what type of mating nucs I will use. If I graft 20 queens at a time, what would the best option for me? Not sure I have enough resources, bee-wise, to make 20 5F Nucs for mating nucs. Would 2F mating nucs be an option? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,529 Posts
Where will the Queens go once mated?
Are you going for Increase?

Maybe do 10 at a time more times if the Mating NUC can be reused.

GG

·
Moderator - In Memorium
Aylett, VA 10-frame double deep Langstroth
6,888 Posts
Mann Lake offers a styrofoam double mini mating nuc that only requires a handful of bees to populate. I used trhem last year with limited success and plan on using them again this year with a few modifications to my technique, ie, making sure I am putting only nurse bees in them and keeping them closed up for three days after inserting a queen cell. It pays to follow the instructions and not go rogue. Kirsten Traynor uses them.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Mann Lake offers a styrofoam double mating nuc that only requires a handful of bees to populate. I used trhem last year with limited success and plan on using them again this year with a few modifications to my technique, ie, making sure I am putting only nurse bees in them and keeping them closed up for three days after inserting a queen cell. It pays to follow the instructions and not go rogue.
Thanks! I thought about those as well, but was sure how successful they were. Cost does play a role in it as well. There are just so many options out there!

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,529 Posts
I plan on using about 5 to requeen current hives and the rest will be for increases.