Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a very strong hive that has suddenly been severely infested by SHB. Have probably lost 2/3 of my bees, including the queen. Hive is now weak. Do not have any other hives to draw from, have ordered a new queen.

Is there anything treatment free that may allow me to save this hive? I do have spare boxes.

·
Registered
309 Posts
Other than trapping them I am not aware of any non-chemical treatment. I have also heard that having the hive in ample sunlight “helps” with not getting them. I wish you luck you sound like your in a pinch.
You can make traps yourself or buy them, just do some searching on here or you tube.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Take this with a dollop of salt, because I'm a beginner, but the only trouble with SHB that I have had is when a colony is having trouble maintaining healthy numbers for some other reason. I've had a mating nuc that didn't get a mated queen succumb to beetles, for example. There are beetles in all of my hives, but they only seem to present a problem when a colony is already in trouble.

Is it possible that your numbers were declining before the beetles took over?

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ray

I think you may be correct. I put the problem on the main board and obtained the following information:
1. SHB do not kill adult bees.
2. The SHB and larvae I saw in the qt. sample I took from the pile of dead bees may have been late to the party. Apparently SHB will breed in dead bee carcasses.
3. One experienced beek says it sounds like what he has seen when the hive was infected with various virus'. No treatment possible, sometimes they make it, sometimes they do not. Plan to follow his advice tommorow and shrink the hive to a size the remaining bees can handle.
4. Hive had plenty of ventilation and honey, so overheat or starving probably not the cause.