Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone - I’m new to refractometers and I am confused...

I purchased one from Mann Lake, item number HH-670. It came with a small calibration block prism but no calibration oil. The directions state the following:

“Drop one drop of dioptric oil on the bright surface of the reference block. Open the cover plate and stick the reference block on the surface of the prism, and press it lightly with your hand so that cannot cannot slide down. Adjust the correcting screw to coincide with the reference line (Brix78.8)”

The refractometer did not come with dioptric oil. Mann Lake sells what they call “standard liquid” for calibration separately. So I bought some. I have attached the packaging for the calibration fluid I bought at Mann Lake. It has a calibration table on the outside of the package that states it is specifically for the HH-670 refractometer that I bought.

Question: do I use the reference block prism that came with the refractometer with the standard liquid from Mann Lake? Or is the Mann Lake standard liquid intended to be put straight on the refractometer and measure it just like I would measure the moisture content of any other liquid.

I tried it both ways and it does make a difference of about 1% during calibration.

Thanks,
Ryan

Attachments

·
Registered
97 Posts
I'm not sure about the prism block. Extra virgin olive oil is often used a calibration fluid for close enough. But since you have the good stuff with known values, generally you put a drop on the refractometer, close the lid, make sure it spreads evenly then take a look and see what it reads. If it is a little off there should be a small screw you can adjust to calibrate it.

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #3