Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in a suburb North of Dallas Texas. I have been keeping bees in my back yard for a few years now and for most of that time had two hives, one purchased and one pulled from a sprinkler box. I lost both of them late 2019 (the one from the sprinkler box was always very weak and didn't produce much honey - the other swarmed then the ones that stayed got taken over by moths - before that I had gone three years with the same two hives). So I got a nuc from Texas Bee Supply and installed it May 2020. It picked up very fast, seemed very strong, and had plenty of honey by November which was all left in the hive.

Then all of a sudden in early January there were a ton of bees dead in front of the hive and within a week they were dead with zero activity in the hive - they went from active when it was warm to dead very quickly (I don't think it ever dropped below 35 degrees here by that time so there was almost always at least some midday activity). When I opened up the hive there were lots of dead bees inside the hive, and hive beetles dead too. (Pictures included.)

I did not treat for mites since installing the nuc and stopped visual inspections in November. After that I had just left them alone to do their thing over the winter.

Any ideas on what caused this so I can prevent it in the future?

Attachments

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,209 Posts
Hi WJClint

better info can be determined if we see the pictures of the combs, Like Maybe comb 1,3,5,7 in the top box.
then we can see Any stores
any brood
any Queen Cells

And BTW with out fall Mite counts that will be the prevailing Opinion as many/most hive death in todays bee worlk is Mite Vectored.

GG

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3