Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in my third year of keeping bees in the Catskill mountains of NY. I had 4 hives (now 3) the one lost due to robbing. As a new-ish beekeeper, i just want to alert new beekeepers to robbing behavior that I noticed and tried to stop but failed and lost a hive.

Last year, one of my hives swarmed. I was not equipped to catch and keep the swarm, so I lost them. Lesson #1 - if you keep bees always be prepared to catch and keep a swarm with equipment and a place to put them.

This spring, I put a super of honey out to feed my two hives when it was too cold to open them and put frames in the hives. BIG mistake. The swarm hive came back and learned my place was a place for free honey. I had robbing problems all through the spring and early summer. I made and put on robbing screens in the late spring and summer which seemed to work. I got lots of nice honey from the swarm hive. They seemed good in early fall, but then I noticed robbing behavior again in the swarm hive. I put on the robbing screen on again and later reduced the entrance. But when I went to put the winter wrapper/insulation on, I found the hive was empty - totally robbed out.

So the 2nd lesson - don't put HONEY frames out for free eating outside of the hive. Lesson 3, if a hive swarms, if you can, move it so the swarm hive doesn't know where free food is.

It's all so mysterious and is a learning opportunity every month of the year.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
I am sorry you lost a hive, but I think you are drawing an incorrect leeson about the "swarm" hive knowing the location of the old hive. (If that's what you meant.)