Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first try at beekeeping. So I started my hive a little late in the spring, about middle of may. This is a new hive, had bees and queen shipped to me. When they had drawn out 80% of the deep, I added a super on top, this was about July 1st. Problem is they have never started drawing out comb in the super, therfore nothing has been stored in the super. The deep looks great, lots of honey stored, eggs, larvae, pollen. Ok here is the question: Can I extract honey from the deep or am I supposed to leave it for the bees for the winter? I'm just wanting to taste some of the sweet product these ladies have worked so hard on. Or since this was a new hive should I just wait until next spring and add the super again. Any advice?

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
Honey in your lower brood box is what the girls depend on to get them through the winter. Here in Maine, there will be a minimum of two deep or three medium brood boxes that feed them over winter. I know nothing about overwintering bees in Texas or how many brood boxes you need, but not touching the brood box honey is pretty universal.

The girls won't mind if you poke a few cells of honey with your hive tool and take a sample, though.

Wayne

·
Registered
507 Posts
How are things over in Howe, TX? I used to live and work in the Blue Ridge, Anna areas.

I'm trying to get my bees to draw out two deeps. That may be overkill but that's my humble opinion. During the dearth times like these, I'm putting on sugar syrup in a 1:1 or 2:1 combination that will encourage comb building and storage of winter supplies.

·
Registered
297 Posts