Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seen this for the first time in the Brushy Mountain catalog last night. Does anyone use this? Is it just a gimick?

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
I have no experience with it, but it reminds me of an aerosol smoke that used to be sold in the 1970's, or thereabouts. Idea was you simply sprayed the "smoke" and it calmed the bees. It was convenient, but didn't really work all that well, and was more expensive than a regular smoker. I've read that some beeks use HBH in a sugar syrup spray to calm their bees. Don't know about that either. I'm too cheap to use anything but smoke. :shhhh:
Regards,
Steven

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
I just placed an order from Brushy Mtn. yesterday and included 2 tubes of this product. I thought it may be worth a try - I have some out yards in CRP. It always makes me nervous playing with fire in that thick, tall grassland; all I need is to start a prairie fire. Also I remember the one time I thought my smoker was extinguished and completely smoked up the interior of my Blazer. At least I was using hickory pellets and it smelled a little like bacon being processed... well, sort of. I'll let you know in a few months if it works.

·
Registered
297 Posts
I've used it and have found it handy for quick inspections. A little goes along way. It's also handy if it's a bit breezy.
I still fire up the smoker if I'm going to do a lot of manipulation.
According to 'Beekeeping for Dummies' it'll stop a robbing frenzy instantly but I've not had the occasion to try it for that yet.
Thankfully.

·
Registered
847 Posts
The liquid smoke for smoking meats does work to a degree, but its just one more thing to pack around, I've got some somewhere.

:lookout: PCM

·
Registered
1,158 Posts