Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new to bee keeping and I'm curious about this...

I live in North West Connecticut so it has a tendency to get rather cold during the winter.

I have medium 8 frame hives.

2 deeps measure very close to 3 mediums. I have read a lot of people recommend 1 or 2 deeps for over wintering.

Has anyone ever left the supers on over the winter? Why not keep it 4 boxes deep during the winter? I was told to strip the hives down to two brood boxes for over wintering. What are the consequences, if any, to leaving the supers on the hives through the winter?

What about leaving three brood boxes throughout the winter instead of two? Are there any consequences to this?

I have heard that the bees have a more difficult time keeping the hive warm during the winter and have a more difficult time with upkeep with more boxes. Is this the reason?

·
Registered
504 Posts
Why not keep it 4 boxes deep during the winter?
From Star Trek:

"Space: the final frontier."
They aren't ready for the space.

"These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Its continuing mission: to explore strange new worlds."
They shouldn't be exploring more comb than they need to.

"To seek out new life and new civilizations."
Don't seek these out. More space than needed is a place for pests to take over.

"To boldly go where no one has gone before!"
too dangerous

·
Registered
313 Posts
Has anyone ever left the supers on over the winter?