Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good afternoon, need some advice here. I'll start from the beginning. I'm in my 2nd year and purchased a 3 lb package March 16. I lost my first two hives over the winter. Things seemed to go well at first but yesterday I finally came to the conclusion I had laying workers, multiples eggs in cells, only drone brood and a rapidly declining population. I found a nuc locally and went and purchased one yesterday afternoon. I had done quite a bit of research in combining hives and decided the best method was the shake out the laying worker hive as a "safe bet." I didn't want things to go south and now seemingly they have. I got out about 10:00 this morning and took the laying worker hive 100 yards from the new nuc and shook out all the bees. They were on the new nuc in no time. I was quite surprised at how quickly everything happened. I figured at this point there is nothing I can do so I let it be. I went out and checked them at 3:00 this afternoon and saw quite a few dead bees on the ground in front of the hive and decided things had gone south so I donned the suit and checked on things. When I located the queen the bees were balling her and she was frantically running around the frame with bees latched onto her. I had saved the queen cage from the package I installed in March so ran inside and grabbed it. I delicately picked up the queen and brushed the other bees off of her and placed her in the cage, put a bit of marshmallow in the hole and put electrical tape over it. I put the queen cage in between two frames and put the hive back together.