Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anybody heard of the Layens hive? I built one yesterday - copied it from a friend. Later in the week, I hope to fill it with a couple of frames from one of his hives (Will this work?).

I'm new to this, but the hive seems to be fairly common in Catalonia (North East Spain) where I live.

The frames are (internally) 12" wide x 14" deep and the hive seems to have the simplicity of a TBH. I don't know if it's already been done, but I'm planning to make a langstroth nuc and a half to use as a super and to get me onto standard frames.

There is a pic on this page - no.3 of 7

The bee hole is midway on the long side. Mine will take 12 x 1.5" frames. I'll have to make them myself. I might try some TBH style t-bars or just empty unwired frames. It's all a learning process.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Has anybody heard of the Layens hive? I built one yesterday - copied it from a friend. Later in the week, I hope to fill it with a couple of frames from one of his hives (Will this work?).

I'm new to this, but the hive seems to be fairly common in Catalonia (North East Spain) where I live.

The frames are (internally) 12" wide x 14" deep and the hive seems to have the simplicity of a TBH. I don't know if it's already been done, but I'm planning to make a langstroth nuc and a half to use as a super and to get me onto standard frames.

There is a pic on this page - no.3 of 7

The bee hole is midway on the long side. Mine will take 12 x 1.5" frames. I'll have to make them myself. I might try some TBH style t-bars or just empty unwired frames. It's all a learning process.
Hey, there!

Almost the complete spanish beekeeping activity is based on Layens beehives. They're Hardy and easy to use bet at the same time dirty and limited. However, should you need more info, please be so kind as to contact us and we'll be happy to assist (we're located in Malaga)
Regards

·
Registered
3,431 Posts