Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Bee Keeps

I have been feeding my naturally kept colonies for about a month and a half. I did switch last to heavier syrup and two colonies are still light. I am wondering if there are opinions as to feed more syrup or switch to candy boards at this late date. I am of course concerned the bees will not have enough time to dry out the syrup. I understand if enough evaporation has not occurred than the bees will have fermented syrup stores and a Nozema problem.

All opinions welcomed!

Best
Marcy

·
Registered
122 Posts
I'm interested too. I live in Woolwich. I have candyboards in my freezer. I was told syrup at this point would give them nosema. Not feeding at present. Also told to put candyboards on around Thanksgiving. Nice to see a nearby beekeeper. This is my first year. so I'll be interested in any advise you get.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm interested too. I live in Woolwich. I have candyboards in my freezer. I was told syrup at this point would give them nosema. Not feeding at present. Also told to put candyboards on around Thanksgiving. Nice to see a nearby beekeeper. This is my first year. so I'll be interested in any advise you get.

Hello Cookie

I posted this awhile ago and it just did not seem to generate much interest. I am on my 9th year of bee keeping here in Brunswick and I am happy to share all my experience and help in anyway. I encourage you to post here as there is so much wisdom and many in Maine will respond.

Generally I agree you run a risk of the bees not being able to dry the syrup enough and the stores can ferment over time and may cause Nosema. I did indeed feed heavy syrup late into the season this year as my bees did not experience a fall flow this year and in coastal Brunswick we remain quite warm. These things are always a calculated risk one way or the other. *smile*