Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

My name is Christopher, and this is my first (aside from my introduction) post. Because this happens to pertain more to the hive itself, I decided to post in this thread rather than the Top Bar one.

I am having my hive custom built by my uncle who's a finished carpenter, and from looking at design after design, I'm struggling to figure out where the entrances should be located.

My hive is 24 bars in length, with 3 sections 8 bars each. Now do I need to have holes located on both endboards, and the center in order to allow the bees to travel to different sections? Or do I cut a small hole into each follower board and place holes just in the center section from the outside?

I'm a bit new at this, so hopefully that all makes sense. Please feel free to ask any information you need.

Thanks,

Christopher

P. S. The attached image is my "semi-completed" hive.

View attachment 32594 View attachment 32594

Attachments

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No I was not planning on using it for mating nucs. It was to my knowledge that you separated the hive to prevent them becoming intimidated.

·
Registered
2,874 Posts
You will not want the sections in the hive if you are using one queen/colony for that hive. From the photo, it looks like the entrance is already done in the center with the three holes. The division boards are used to narrow down the cavity where you start the colony, and then you move them out to the edges as you add more bars for them to draw comb on. No holes should be in the follower boards, unless you plan to add a feeder on the empty side of the hive behind the follower board.

Have you read an introductory book on topbar hives yet? I do like Christy Hemenway's first book The Thinking Beekeeper to get the basics down on a topbar hive.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5