Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How is the sour wood flow going so far in Kentucky and surrounding states? My strongest hives have made a shallow super so far. When does the nectar flow end in Kentucky and beekeepers start taking supers off? I'm kind of new at bee keeping and just wondering what to expect.

·
Registered
2,239 Posts
"...When does the nectar flow end in Kentucky and beekeepers start taking supers off? "
all beekeeping is local. ky is blessed with nearly every variety of climate except high desert and seashore. that said, here in western ky the major flow is over and i try to rob on or about the 4th of july weekend.
good luck,mike

·
Registered
302 Posts
Here in eastern KY the sour wood is in full bloom and still working some white clover too.

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Is there that much difference in the flow in the same state??? The other week i heard the flow was over in central ky and was waiting on the fall flow..then some other ppl from ky said they was filling supers and now i have heard it again...Now someone is still feeding their hives thats all there is to it....:lpf:

·
Registered
2,239 Posts
"you just never can tell about bees" Winnie the Pooh Bear.
i've had hives put on weight in the midst of the worst drought in 10 years-and found out they were robbing another hive to death. :)

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Flow seems to be over @ Munfordville, Ky. But I will hope for rain soon and more flow to come.

Mr. Haney, Bet they were Italians, huh?

·
Registered
63 Posts
i'm with mike, main flow over in our area. i spun a super yesterday, go back for 2 more today. i read somewhere Ky, is lowest producing honey state. i never found out if that was from a lack of beekeeprs or from a lack of nectar.

·
Registered
1,039 Posts