Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm waiting to see how it all turns out, and if they create some kind of cross-comb disaster in all that open space. (I used Kelley's guide frames). I just hived them yesterday, in their brand new hives. I'm a complete novice: these are my first bees ever, and I live in a remote area so that there aren't any experienced beekeepers or groups nearby to help out.

I'm using only 8-frame medium boxes throughout, so I installed each 4-lb package into two mediums.

I'll chronicle my foundationless outcomes in my blog, and write down what I learn and what mistakes I make: http://bendingtreearts.com/blog

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,094 Posts
I've done it many times. Some bees build everything so perfect you think they are clairvoyant. I've even done top bars with no guides and one drawn comb and they drew them perfectly. But other bees go wild. Keep an eye on them and if the first couple of combs are going wild, cut them loose and tie them into the frames straight. Odds are with a good comb guide, like the Kelley frames have, they will do fine.

·
Registered
39 Posts
MB,

Is it necessary to wire foundationless medium frames for radial extraction? I've read conflicting suggestions. What's your thought?

Thanks in advance.
-BH

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
BH: My reasoning, as an utter newbie, is that medium frames can get by without wiring because they're not that deep. Maybe it would be dicier if you were running foundationless deeps?

MB: Thank you so much for your experienced insight and suggestion. It sounds like a good plan. I really like the concept of being able to work with the bees, if necessary, by straightening the combs.

·
Registered
35 Posts