Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally took the plunge into beekeeping today. Trying to space out the financial outlays leading up to May. Visited my "local store" - 40 minutes away. Came home with a suit, gloves, smoker, hive tool, brush, and two bases. I'm a veterinarian and want to get into bee medicine. I'm signed up for beekeeping classes starting in a couple of weeks. Right now I'm trying to figure out where I want to put the hives. I'm starting with two nucs. I have 20 acres, most of which is covered in pine trees. I'm told sunny areas are desirable, but other than the yard for the house, I don't have very many of them. How close to a vegetable garden is too close? I use an old Massey Ferguson tractor do work my gardens and don't want to disturb the bees.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Finally took the plunge into beekeeping today. Trying to space out the financial outlays leading up to May. Visited my "local store" - 40 minutes away. Came home with a suit, gloves, smoker, hive tool, brush, and two bases. I'm a veterinarian and want to get into bee medicine. I'm signed up for beekeeping classes starting in a couple of weeks. Right now I'm trying to figure out where I want to put the hives. I'm starting with two nucs. I have 20 acres, most of which is covered in pine trees. I'm told sunny areas are desirable, but other than the yard for the house, I don't have very many of them. How close to a vegetable garden is too close? I use an old Massey Ferguson tractor do work my gardens and don't want to disturb the bees.
welcome here.

·
Registered
3,439 Posts