Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
641 Posts
If your hive is new, then it is most likely that what you saw were some of the first orientation flights. What you saw are bees that have served as nurses and are now preparing to become foragers. To do so successfully, they need to have a good idea of where the hive is located by referencing the position of the sun and the surroundings. I think of them as being teenagers learning to drive a car; controlled chaos.

In my apiary, new bees orient in the mid to late afternoon; they hover outside of the hive, tracing figure eight patterns while facing the hive, and sometimes circle the hive a few times. Then, they return. In a new hive, there is a larger fraction of bees that simultaneously reach the stage at which this is done, and it seems sudden. Even in an established hive, orientation flights take place regularly as more nurse bees continue to graduate to their new role.

·
Registered
66 Posts
I'm no expert but here's my two cents. I see this happen every once in a while with my hive. It worried me as well the first time I saw it. I think I figured it out after standing there and observing what was happening. I came to the conclusion it's caused by too many bee's coming back all at the same time while there are still some leaving making an air traffic jam. As I stood there and watched I'd see 3-4 land and go in while 4-5 other would abort their landing at the same time and 1-2 would leave at the same time. I thought sometimes it was because my entrance was too small. But it seems to happen at hives with larger openings too. :scratch:

·
Registered
5,400 Posts