Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
I've got limited chalkbrood experience, but since those will decades of experience are not responding, I'll give it a go.
The photos of the hard white larvae look like chalkbrood to me. The black dead larvae are likely the combination of the two fungi that can cause chalk brood (yes, the two fungi that cause white chalkbrood apparently cause black chalkbrood when the join forces).
The photo of the comb was less convincing, were those drone brood they opened up? They might just be culling some drones. My hives do it late spring.
I hope that helps.
~Reid

·
Registered
1,683 Posts
Yes it is. There is no "cure" so to speak. Wet weather can help expedite the chalkbrood infection.
Make sure you have adequate ventalation. If possible drop to one brood box so there is a more concentration of bees. However if you have like 7 frames of bees and stores, you might need two brood boxes.
If it does not clear up on it's own in a couple of weeks, you will have to requeen. Or if it gets real bad requeen. If only a few black/white on the bottom board they should get over it. However if they have alot, might consider requeening. Do not let them make a queen cell...buy one. The cell will have the spores.
Do this hive and last. And then torch any tools you use to work your hives. If you have gloves wash them, and wash your suit.

I have a couple of hives that developed this. I am giving them a week or so to clear up. If they do not, requeen. We are in a derth right now, so i have given them some feed and pollen patties. I am hoping that with increasing their nutrition, that i can help alleviate some of the problem...no proof, just seeing what happens.