Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I came out of winter with two hives, then one collapsed. I suspect robbing from the stronger hive. I did a walk away split a week ago by placing whole boxes of brood on a bottom board then placing an empty deep from the collapsed hive on top.

I just walked out to check on them BC I am thinking about swapping positions later today of the strongest hive with the weakest to help with drift and I noticed what must be bee excrement on the side of the hive. Is that what that is and should I be worried? IMG_20140411_121318357.jpg IMG_20140411_121331837b.jpg

Here are some pics of the collapsed hive when I opened it. I noticed the wax along one side, which seemed to indicate probable robbing? I am coming out of my first winter with bees (got packages last spring) - so I'm quite new at this.
IMG_20140406_132635725_HDR.jpg IMG_20140406_133302035.jpg

Thanks!

Registered
It looks like excrement to me, I wouldn't worry. The wax, could have been bees of that hive uncapping honey when they were alive, or robbers uncapping. It appears to me (from the bottom board), there may have been a moisture issue. Did any of the frame tops, or any of the hive body sides look like the bottom board?

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
No, the dead bees were mostly on the screen bottom board. The hive had a med super full of capped syrup/honey and a deep about half full of capped syrup/honey. How do I prevent excess moisture?

I will not worry about the excrement on the outside. Thanks!

Registered
How do I prevent excess moisture?

our overwintering technique which we love.known commonly as mountain capping.

remove lid/inner cover
lay newspaper on top of top bars/frames
add one five pound bag of dry sugar
put on a 3-4" spacer/venitlation box which has 3, 1/2" holls drilled in it with screen over them.
add lid.