Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a colony that has accessed a small hatch on a trailer. There's a panel underneath that will drop to access the entire area where the hive will be. It couldn't have been there more than a week, because I was there a week prior to discovery and saw no bees. They are bringing pollen in so there must be comb. This seems like a great opportunity to get a new colony.

My plan is to go early tomorrow am, drop the panel, cut the comb, rubber band any that has brood. I'll try and locate the queen and put her in a clip. But I'm new to this and have never seen the queen I have now.

I don't have a vacuum and it's a pretty good drive. That's why I'm thinking suit up heavily and try to get them into a box early in the am to capture them. I'll
Put a swarm trap and leave it there in case any new swarms attempt to go there.

Should I smoke them first?

Does my plan sound like a good one? This is my first experience with a cut out/trap out, or swarm.

The other option I thought would be to smoke them into a box set up like a hogan trap at the small entrance and then remove the comb.

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
Sounds fine. Even if you somehow miss the queen they should be able to make a new one.

I have only done one cutout and attaching comb to frames, but that experience was memorable. Smoke them, and move slowly. Have everything you need right to hand before you start. Be prepared for a sticky mess. A bucket of warm water to rinse off your gloves periodically as you work, is a real good idea.

·
Registered
Possum Valley, TN Bee Wrangler
975 Posts