Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year beekeeping and I started with 4 hives. In August, I pulled resources from 3 strong hives (full double deeps) and installed mated queens to make 2 additional hives. Those 2 new hives are thriving in a single deeps (9 frames drawn, tons of brood) and I am trying to decide whether to add a deep box with foundation or use medium boxes with drawn comb from honey harvest. The 3 strong hives have already recovered and I could probably take some honey frames from those hives if needed. I am in Charleston, SC it is still in the 90s and our winters are very mild. I have been feeding and all my queens are laying up a storm. My question is, should I try to overwinter in a single deep, expand with deeps with undrawn foundation or use drawn medium comb I have from honey supers?

·
Registered
6,901 Posts
I'm not in your area so take that into consideration, but I would add a medium of drawn comb. I think it's too late in the bee season to expect a lot of wax to be drawn, and a deep brood with medium on top should over winter very well.

·
Registered
95 Posts
I'm in Lexington County, SC.

A single deep might be ok. A medium over a deep seems to be the standard around here. I use all mediums and over winter in three mediums (equivalent to double deep). I acknowledge that that is overkill.

Personally I would feed until your extra medium is filled.

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
3,482 Posts
if I were in your exact position, I would:
a) if the mediums are worker size brood cells place the empty medium on the bottom board, place the deep with bees on top of that. IE give room below the existing.
b) second choice not as good but doable. use 2 deeps, place the center 4 combs in the bottom , at the same position they were , add 3 frames of foundation on each side.