Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year keeping bees and I will be using 10 frame equipment with new plastic foundation. The plan is to start two hives this spring.
I am strictly focused on the management, bee health, and striving to have one or both hives make it through the first winter, which is what has me on edge most. The honey would just be a cool perk if all goes well;)

As is typically recommended to beginners, I will be installing an established 5 frame Nuc into one of the hives...this should be a no brainer.

The other hive is going to receive a 3 lb. package. I chose to go this route so I can see the differing development of each hive.
I am prepared for the slower build up in the spring and my original plan was to use a divider board with the entrance reducer, and only 4-5 frames of the wax coated plastic foundation. I will be feeding them, and I would add frames as the colony developed.

So with all that planned out, I was pleasantly surprised when a friend had offered to loan or trade me some of his fully drawn out comb frames to start the package on. :thumbsup: I am not anticipating these would have much in the way of honey stores. They are more for turn key housing, and I would still have to feed.

What is a good balance of empty drawn comb frames and new foundation that would be ideal for a young colony with a queen that is likely a virgin?

Would only 1 or two drawn frames be adequate to give them a jump start, or is there any benefit to using more?

·
Registered
3,091 Posts
I understand where you are coming from, and others may disagree, but about the only benefit I see with a package over a nuc is that they will be focused on drawing comb. It seems you already know how valuable drawn comb is. First make sure, double sure that your friend's comb is good, meaning disease free. If so, I would only use 2 frames in the middle for the queen to get going in.