Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to beekeeping and so is my brother. This is his hive, and he sent me a picture. This is a 26 day old package, it looks like a good start to me, but my question is, is that the queen in the right? I can't tell which one she would be but the grouping seems right (all inward facing). Thoughts? IMG_0815.jpg

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks, I'm still in the boat that they all look the same, I have to see their activity to figure out who is who.

·
Registered
7,861 Posts
The one on the corner is not a queen bee for the following reason:
1. She does not has the long extended body like a queen should bee.
2. The majority of the Italian queens will have a black spot on the end of their bodies.
3. Her thorax is not large enough to be a queen.
4. She stuck her tail up in a defensive/irritated position where as a queen's body is too
heavy to do that. A well mated laying queen is too heavy to even lift her body this way.
5. She is not surrounded by worker bees where ever she goes.
6. See the queen pics:

Attachments

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
The one on the corner is not a queen bee for the following reason:
1. She does not has the long extended body like a queen should bee.
2. The majority of the Italian queens will have a black spot on the end of their bodies.
3. Her thorax is not large enough to be a queen.
4. She stuck her tail up in a defensive/irritated position where as a queen's body is too
heavy to do that. A well mated laying queen is too heavy to even lift her body this way.
5. She is not surrounded by worker bees where ever she goes.
6. See the queen pics:
Beepro, the bees are suppose to be Russian "mutts" as described by the apiary. The are from a local apiary in Indian Head Maryland. Does that change your thoughts, or is everything else still enough?