Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie and have been researching and reading for about a year. I'll be receiving my bees the first week of May (late I know) from a reputable guy in my area who is going to shake me a package and mark my queen for me (good thing or else I'd never see her again).
QUESTION IS: You hear alot about when to inspect and what to inspect for at the beginning but NOT so much about when to inspect your brood chambers after you have placed a queen excluder and are mainly looking over your honey supers. My question is...once I have a few supers placed and things are going nicely, how often and for what should I inspect the brood chambers.
I'm signed on now so if I need to clarify just ask.

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I, like you am a beginner and this is what I have read.
You should always experiment to see what will work best for your tenure, climate and bees. I have read of some just setting up two deeps for the brood boxes and once established not looking back unless there is a decline in population. I have also read about swapping boxes and inspecting the brood pattern twice a year. If you are a hobbiest you have the luxury of a small apiary and can look every couple of weeks being careful not to "roll" the queen between frames.
Hopefully you will get some answers from beeks in your area.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That was pretty much the impression that I was getting...Once I get some work going on in my honey supers, I plan to put on a queen excluder and then I will take that off this fall to allow them to have full run of the joint. I don't really expect to get any honey this year...as a matter of fact, I'm depending on that because I'm not going to buy my extracting equipment until during the winter. lol