Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If I believe that both of my two new hives are queenless, and I get new queens shipped to me and install them in the hive, what will happen if the hives already have queens? Can it hurt anything? Wouldn't they just kill the new queens?

A couple queens would come to 40-50$ plus shipping, I'm in my first year of beekeeping that almost seems like a worthwhile expendature because a dieing or unproductive hive seems a lot worse than possibly wasting 30 bucks on a hive.

I know I can just hope that they make a replacement queen themselves but then the hive will have to wait a month for her to produce, and then you miss out on a month's worth of laying time so I don't really want to lose the time.

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
20 Posts
How long do you think the hives have been queenless? If you have single eggs in the bottom of the cells, the queen was there at least three days ago. If your hives are queen right the new queens won't last long.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm afraid they've been queenless for 6 days, the day I installed the nucs into the hives. I lost a 250ish bees from both hives that day, and I'm just worried the bees may have been stressed, blamed the queen and killed her... or maybe I'm just being paranoid.

The queen is/were good layers originally and came with lots of capped brood in the nucs... I'll probably give them until Thursday when I can come check them again and do a really good search for eggs. If I can't find any sign of eggs by then I'll probably order new queens.

Or am I missing something?

·
Registered
81 Posts
Are they building queen cells at all? If she was there and they killed her I would imagine they would have built queen cells by now. Viable cells or not.