Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking about labels here, and customer loyalty, and ????

Can I buy in bulk, and put my own label on it? As a producer, I can sell my own honey, but do I need a special kitchen if I buy and resell? Or, should I try for getting the producer to provide me with labels and sell on commision?

I know 2 gents with a permanant vegetable stands that I would like to try, they could likely move a lot of honey.

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
Terri, if I sell honey to you wholesale that makes you my customer. You have the right to inspect my hives and recommend changes if I want to keep you as a customer. Your recommendations would be protecting the interests of your customers.

Labelling would probably be wildflower honey which is kind of all inclusive. the laws of your state would dictate whether or not you as a reseller need special accomodations. If so, you can always require me to bottle and you just resell.

Hawk

·
Registered
64 Posts
Sellers at Farmers markets will often supplement their produce with purchased items. It is not a big deal. If the label is accurate (pure honey) then I don't think there is any problem. If it says "local honey", then that has to be accurate also. Just as long as the label is correct, whatever that may be, you are good to go. Anything misleading will be the problem.

Looking at the things they sell now, you can't tell because the fresh vegtables are not labeled. It could be most things are not grown by them at various times of the year, the honey will just be one more item.

That is my opinion, Kansas, being a state that raises and sells lots of produce, may have regulations, but in CT, I don't know of any, nor do I know of who would enforce laws if there were any.

·
Registered
3,597 Posts