Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello :) I'm new to beekeeping and my husband and I are gathering ideas for our set-up. I attended beekeeper school with my local club and have my bee packages on order for the end of April, so I'm just making sure to plan ahead.

We have a swimming pool and a young son, so I want to make sure I give my bees a good water source to dissuade them from convening in our pool. We have well water with less than great flow, so anything involving a faucet/hose drip would not be an option for us. I saw these in-ground, gentle bubbling fountains on Amazon and thought this might work and also be a pretty addition to the area that will be my bee yard.

Having no hands on experience, do you think this would work? Would bees like it? Enough to use it and not our pool? I appreciate any input from seasoned beekeepers and thank you for you help!

http://amzn.com/B001ABNCJ4

fountain.jpg

·
Registered
139 Posts
The bees tend to prefer slow flowing or relatively still water. The picture looks like continuously moving water. It may attract some bee traffic, but I don't know if it will be preferred.

Your pool will be attractive to the bees not just because it is water, but there is a small amount of salt in the water as a result of the chlorine you add. The chlorine you buy is typically stabilized with sodium, making it a salt. Your pool won't have "salt water" in it, but it will have a trace of salt. Bees need salt and find themselves drawn to pool water. You can counter this to at least some degree by giving them a closer water source, such as right next to the hive. A simple bird bath will do. Shallow is best (more like a plate than a bowl). You might want to get some of those anti-mosquito and anti-algae "pucks" to put in the bird feeder water or you will have both.

Jim.

·
Registered
364 Posts