Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I made a mistake and added honey super before second brood box. Brood box is full and two weeks ago they swarmed. So I have a mostly full super and mostly full brood box. I need to add a second brood box. How do I get the bees out if the super and what do I do with the honey super until get the work five in the second brood box? I’m a newbie in Iowa.

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
Walrus:

Need some more information.

1. What size box is your brood box? Deep? Medium? Other?
2. What size box is your honey super?
3. Did you place a queen excluder between your brood box and honey super?
4. Do you plan on harvesting honey this year? If so, when?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Need some more information.
1. What size box is your brood box? DEEPDeep? Medium? Other? 2. What size box is your honey super? 3. Did you place a queen excluder between Need some more information.
1. What size box is your brood box? Deep? Medium? Other?
2. What size box is your honey super? MEDIUM
3. Did you place a queen excluder between your brood box and honey super? NO

4. Do you plan on harvesting honey this year? If so, when? your brood box and honey super? PROBABLY NOT first year hive

4. Do you plan on harvesting honey this year? If so, when?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Deep brood box
Medium super
No excluder
I would love to harvest this year but assume I won’t

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
I don't see where you have messed up anything. You may have intended to have a Deep + Deep broodnest, but you have a Deep + Medium broodnest instead. I will let some Iowa or Iowa-ish beekeepers chime in on whether that will be adequate food stores, assuming it they are full, for an Iowa winter.