Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not sure it would help as much down here, but a comment about a hive underground already having drones made me start thinking. I'm an engineer, so thinking usually either ends in disaster or something I can at least call a success, lol.

Anyways, ignoring any obvious things like the trouble manipulating a hive in the ground or ground water, would a buried hive help them survive up north? Maybe something with wood walls where the top of the double deep comes level with the ground and any honey supers are above ground with a top entrance at ground level. I'm even thinking about a box in the ground a little larger than a hive that the deeps slide down in tight fitting?

Would this give them a head start in the spring? It might kill them if you don't feed since they couldn't come out and collect since it still cold, and it might also kill them because of lack of air flow.

I know it wouldn't work economically for a large scale operation, but maybe for a hobby person?

·
Super Moderator
11,146 Posts
While you may not be crazy, it could be that you were born 100 years too late. :D

You may be interested in reading "Wintering of Bees" from this 1909 publication.
http://books.google.com/books?id=8n...v=onepage&q=potato cellar bees winter&f=false
(starts on page 282)

One of the methods discussed is wintering bees in a cellar, but one of the other options is (in the fall) dig a trench in the dirt, put the hives in, cover with some straw and then put all the dirt back! :rolleyes: Dig back up in the spring.
:digging:

·
Registered
175 Posts