Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,097 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, some background. I'm a recovering musician and have always worn earplugs at live music, on the table saw, etc. so I still have very good hearing. Most concerts I need the earplugs because it's painfully loud, just never killed those nerve endings :rolleyes:. So shooting I usually use earmuffs and indoor ranges I use plugs AND earmuffs (and when the cat next to me has a 338 with a muzzle brake, I'm grateful for every decibel blocked!).

However when hunting, I naturally don't use ear protection and while so far I've only needed one shot, my ears ring for a good hour into the biology class part. Some have recommended I try these "game ears" kind of electronic earmuffs, you know, amplify noises 7X until something over [whatever decibel level] which is blocked out. It sounds pretty cool, I think I'd love to try the amplified hearing out in the high country, but I have to admit walking around in the woods with whiz-bang earmuffs on feels a little weird and I think I might hide rather than be seen in them. They seem to run $50 to $80, which is a lot cheaper than hearing aids.

Now granted, we've a lot of big country out here and no one will see me anyways :cool:. So anyone tried these things? I see a lot of shooters at the range using the regular electronics, so you can talk and whatnot but block the shots which seems cool.

Newfangled gadget you wouldn't be caught dead with?
Might be cool, but can't see yourself wearing one?
Great tool, helps hunt plus you don't blast out your ears, total win?

·
Registered
2,324 Posts