Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, another Newbee question....

As of late, it seems in the evening a lot of my "girls' gather in clumps and a "beard? from the main (lower) enterence hanging down about 8 inches. This clump covers the landing board and enterence all together.

I thought it was them cooling off on the humid nights. However, it rained fairly decent the other night and my "clump of girls" was there getting soaked.

I've been told that it is an overcrowding and space problem. However, it just started happening. The funny thing is, I just added my first honey super (med deep)and it is totally empty leaving lots of room. I don't understand why they would "hang around" outside and get soaked in a downpour rather thn go inside.

As it is my first year, I kinda went with the "leave the hive alone. As they fill the first deep, add the second and so forth. Was I supposed to open the hive and scrape off all the burr comb and access giving them more room or something?

Unfortunately, the remains of Katrina are coming through tonight and tomorrow so there isn't much I can do right now. Will I loose a lot of bees because they hung out outside durring this heavy rain tonight and tomorrow?

After the storm, if they are still alive and clumbed outside at the end of the day, should I smoke them, brush them into a box, open my top and dump them into the empty med super to get them more interested in being inside than out?

Any comments and suggestion are appreciated.

Thanks everyone for answering all my questions thuis season. When i become an experienced Beekeeper, I'll most likely get a good laugh out of many of my question from this, my first, season!

Have a great day!

·
Registered
4,071 Posts
Bob:

They are just hot, and hanging out on the porch. They will go in if it starts raining too hard.

peggjam

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #3