Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My bees are flying frantically in front of my existing hive like never before. I have been told that this hive is pretty healthy. Since I'm brand new at this, I would greatly appreciate some advice from experienced beeks.

If my hive was preparing to swarm, would it work if I put a new hive right across (say, 15') from my existing one to give the swarming bees a new home. Or, should I put the new hive right next to the existing one. Do you think they might just go there and start a new hive?

·
Registered
2,532 Posts
If you are really lucky that will work. The best way is to make a split into your new hive. Use the search function for Beesource and you will find all the info you need on making a split/artificial swarm/increase hive

·
Registered
2,940 Posts
First off you could be seeing orientation flights which many new folks mistake for swarming. Here is a video of orientation flights:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XtH9nG929OU

Second I have never seen a hive swarm directly from one hive to another, they always gather at a congregation point first. Not saying it can't happen just never heard of it.

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
Tom, my two hives are 2 months old now and are booming in population. It amazes me to see the vast numbers of them racing in and out of the hive on warm sunny days. Just clouds of them! Such activity is quite impressive, and might easily be taken to be a pre-swarm sign by us newbies. :) But I learned that it was just normal activity for a bustling hive on a good bee day.
Have you been inspecting your hive inside? What's it like?

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
NasalSponge,