Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, on the pictures you see my 'beehive'. I want to build a decent one and move this colony to the new one.
- Is that possible?
- How can I do that?

I am a complete newbee, read a lot about beekeeping but I really need your help!

Regards

Jan

DSCF1813 (Mobile).JPG DSCF1814 (Mobile).JPG DSCF1815 (Mobile).JPG

·
Super Moderator
11,070 Posts
Welcome to Beesource!

From the photo, the hive appears to be a closed clay container of some sort. If you choose to open it (or perhaps cut or break it open) you can move combs to a regular hive with frames. Rubber bands around the frames can hold the combs in place until the bees attach the combs to the frames. On Beesource this process is referred to as a "cut out".

If you don't want to open the current hive, the bees can be "trapped out". This involves attaching a standard hive to the existing hive though a form of a tunnel. Trapouts are more difficult to describe the details here, and may be less certain of success than a cut out.

Perhaps you could explain more what that clay object is and whether you can access the insides. If you do have to do a trapout, we can offer more specifics.

·
Registered
770 Posts
If they don't have much room in there. you might set a hive on top, put a hole in the bottom board, they may just move up.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The 'hive' is an upside flower pot with a smaller one inside. So turning it will destroy the honeycomb. Can I just lift it carefully and take out what I can? Then remove it to a swarm catching frame. Do I have to separate the queen first?

How will the bees react when I do that?

Can you imagine, I am Dutch living in Thailand, that my wife wanted to destroy this beautiful piece of nature in the first place? She now loves it.

·
Registered
1,237 Posts
If you have a smoker use it, its easier on you and the bees