Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok...This IS my first year/attempt at bee keeping and I have a sugar/feeding question I would like to get answered PLEASE!

I read feed 1:1 Syrup for bee's to....?..... feed 2:1 syrup for the bee's to....?..... I have no idea what or which ratio to feed when! :scratch: lol

However; my question if if I simply put plain old out the bag white sugar on top of my inner cover and the bee's consume it is that which 1:1, 2:1,
or NON of the Above?

I like the idea of just putting the bagged sugar on the inner cover and letting er rip..:D

Any suggestions?

Oh are any of you simply using these?

·
Registered
489 Posts
Some believe /theorize or perhaps have proven- 1:1 by weight, that is a pound of water a pound of sugar, helps with build up . 2:1 is used as a storable food source in the fall. Many opinions and many variations on how and when as well as additives and a host of other issues. I've read dry sugar lightly moistened will work as winter feed, I think it's called mountain camp or some such thing. Check out bush bees feeding bees very informative. A debatable subject to say the least!

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
If they have plenty of stores I wouldn't feed. If you believe they need to draw comb feed 1:1. If they are using up stores and they have drawn empty comb feed 2:1 so they will fill up the empty comb. Last year late in the summer I had a hive, single deep under a medium where I found the queen had moved up and the bees had eaten all the stores in the bottom. I started feeding with 2:1 (actually more like 7cups to 4 cups because I found that it was hard to get 2:1 dissolved). I fed about 4 quarts per week for 4 weeks, and then when I inspected found they had stored enough to virtually fill the comb. The exact ratio of sugar to water is not that important you will find.