Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm ecstatic that my hives, stocked April 31, has comb and larvae. They are in our wildlife area with lots of fruit trees and other sources of pollen but are still emptying the sugar water quart jars every few days. My question is how often to disturb them in checking the hive? I'd love to do it everyday but I know I shouldn't! I do have an observation window but it doesn't show everything. Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
638 Posts
Depends on what your doing. For an everyday hive just starting out....I'd say no more than once a week to check that they're building comb and bringing in resources..pollen and nectar. Once everything is up n running, every 2-3 weeks maybe? Checking for larva, eggs resources. I'm a newbie and there may be better answers. Get into queen raising and those boxes are gotten into almost everyday.

·
Registered
1,978 Posts
I agree with Santa Caras. With a new hive you shouldn't have to worry about swarming for a little bit, but they can surprise you. When you inspect you don't have to completely check the entire hive, you can start from the rear of the brood nest and check for eggs. If you see eggs you are queen right. And of course you want to ensure they are pulling straight comb. Once you get to 4 or 5 brood bars you can put new bars in the middle of the next to insure that they pull straight comb and to keep the brood nest open.

·
Registered
317 Posts
I have had bees for over 45 years, my rule is check them weekly.
If not something wrong will go over the whole hive.
Just my 2cents.

·
Registered
819 Posts
Unless I have good reason, I don't open the hives.
My version of checking is two-fold.
i watch the entrances for a few seconds as I walk by.
You can tell most of what you need to know that way.
i tilt the hive to check the weight.
That tells me the rest of what I need to know.