Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have four hives, brood boxes, I've been building up for the upcoming three month mangrove bloom starting in May, my question is, when I take the boxes to the mangroves should I install one super per brood box or more? If I use one super per hive I'll have to harvest it when it's full and take it back for the bees to fill it again, the benefit of this is the super frames are already built out and the bees will not have to build new comb, or should I add two supers per box and just harvest at the end of the bloom? It's less work for me to have multiple supers but more work for the bees. Obviously my supers are new and have no comb and obviously I'm fairly new to this to.
Thanks

·
Registered
205 Posts
I have four hives, brood boxes, I've been building up for the upcoming three month mangrove bloom starting in May, my question is, when I take the boxes to the mangroves should I install one super per brood box or more? If I use one super per hive I'll have to harvest it when it's full and take it back for the bees to fill it again, the benefit of this is the super frames are already built out and the bees will not have to build new comb, or should I add two supers per box and just harvest at the end of the bloom? It's less work for me to have multiple supers but more work for the bees. Obviously my supers are new and have no comb and obviously I'm fairly new to this to.
Thanks
Please clarify this.

Are you saying the mangrove bloom lasts THREE months ?

(Two supers doesn't sound like much for a flow of that length.)

If so, my thought is you will either need to extract very often or risk swarming.

Better way, in my opinion, is to stack 2-3 supers per hive, take off 2 when they are filled, extract and put back on.

After the first cycle you will be putting drawn comb back on, so they will get filled even faster.